The Figure network is involved in many European networks and associations and has initiated several cooperation programmes around the world.

The European network ENAEE

The FIGURE Network is an associate member of the ENAEE (European Network for Accreditation of Engineering Education), the academic network for quality assurance in higher education in the European Higher Education Area.

The IREP Programme

The FIGURE and Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA, USA) networks signed a partnership agreement in September 2018 to allow the mobility of students as “visiting scholars” in research laboratories of American universities that are members of BTAA. The mobility of American students to one of the CMI’s 208 co-supporting research units is also being considered.

The BTAA network includes 14 universities in the Northeast and Midwest: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska-Lincoln, Northwestern, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Purdue, Rutgers, Wisconsin-Madison. This network, created in 1958 under the name “Committee on Institutional Cooperation” or CIC, became BTAA in 2016.

Signing of the agreement between Downing Thomas (left), Senior International Officer at the University of Iowa, representing Keith Marshall, Executive Director, and Lamine Boubacar (right), President of the Figure Network.

The IREP (International Research Experience Program) is open since 2018-2019 to students enrolled in a CMI programme. It offers the possibility of a 3-month internship in 8 of the 14 member universities of the American network.

Host Universities

  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Indiana University
  • University of Iowa
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Northwestern University
  • Rutgers University

See travel abroad