Issues

Planning, environment, resource scarcity, climate change, pollution: geosciences are at the forefront of the sciences committed to responding to new societal and environmental challenges. The geosciences bring together a set of complementary disciplines that are necessary to understand how the planet works and to control the interactions between the environment and anthropogenic developments.

They provide students with a foundation of general skills for understanding the functioning of the different layers of the Earth’s mantle and their interactions, understanding the origin and evolution of the planets and the solar system, and understanding the origin and history of life on Earth. In addition, the CMI in geosciences allow us to acquire the tools and knowledge necessary to properly take into account the complexity of our environment in relation to engineering objectives (resource management and exploitation, development and preservation of the environment).

The growth of geoscience issues on a global scale is integrated with numerous research activities, stimulating innovation in a sector that is in demand; as well as by periods at the international level allowing the needs and tools of other countries to be taken into account.

Business sectors

The sectors of activity concern the areas of :

reconnaissance: these are the professions that aim to describe our geological environment. They cover prospecting strategies and tools (field geology, geophysical, geotechnical and hydrogeological methods), the use and exploitation of remote sensing methods, mapping on different scales, etc.
the environment: these are professions related to the rational exploitation of water resources, mineral and fossil energy resources and renewable resources. Taking into account their preservation and their management in time and space are sectors of geosciences activities. The management of waste and the pollution of terrestrial and/or oceanic ecosystems are also covered,
environmental planning: these are activities that deal with the interactions between human infrastructure and the complex and ever-changing environment. The fields of application are development projects (related to civil engineering), analysis and management of natural risks.

Examples of occupations that can be accessed through MICs in geosciences are geophysicist, geotechnician, hydrogeologist, geothermal engineer, petroleum geologist, mining geologist, natural hazards engineer, geoscientific researcher. New professions are also emerging, such as engineers in ecodesign, polluted sites and soils, carbon assessment and deconstruction.

Our programmes
Applied Geology Responsable(s) du CMI : Martine Buatier Université de Franche-Comté

Enjeux

Aménagement, environnement, raréfaction des ressources, dérèglement climatique, pollution : les géosciences sont au premier rang des sciences engagées pour répondre aux nouveaux défis sociétaux et environnementaux. Les géosciences regroupent un ensemble de disciplines complémentaires et nécessaires à la compréhension du fonctionnement de la planète, et à la maîtrise des interactions entre l’environnement et les aménagements anthropiques.

Elles donnent aux étudiants un socle de compétences générales pour la compréhension du fonctionnement des différentes enveloppes terrestres et de leurs interactions, la compréhension de l’origine et de l’évolution des planètes et du système solaire, la compréhension de l’origine et de l’histoire de la vie sur Terre. Puis les CMI en géosciences permettent d’acquérir les outils et connaissances nécessaires à la bonne prise en compte de la complexité de notre environnement en lien avec des objectifs de l’ingénierie (gestion et exploitation des ressources, aménagement et préservation de l’environnement).

La croissance des problématiques en lien avec les géosciences à l’échelle du globe est intégrée avec de nombreuses activités en recherche, stimulant l’innovation dans un secteur en demande ; ainsi que par les périodes à l’international permettant la prise de compte des besoins et des outils des autres pays.

Secteurs d'activités

Les secteurs d’activité concernent les domaines de :

  • la reconnaissance : ce sont les métiers qui visent à décrire notre environnement géologique. Ils portent sur les stratégies et outils de prospections (géologie de terrain, méthodes géophysiques, géotechniques, hydrogéologique), sur l’utilisation et l’exploitation des méthodes de télédétections, sur la cartographie aux différentes échelles
  • l’environnement : il s’agit des métiers en lien avec l’exploitation raisonnée des ressources en eau, des ressources minérales et énergétiques fossiles et des ressources renouvelables. La prise en compte de leur préservation, de leur gestion dans le temps et l’espace sont des secteurs d’activités des géosciences. La gestion des déchets et la pollution des écosystèmes terrestres et/ou océaniques sont également visées,
  • l’aménagement de l’environnement : ce sont les activités portant sur les interactions entre les infrastructures humaines et l’environnement complexe et en évolution constante. Les champs d’application sont les projets d’aménagement (en lien avec le génie civil), l’analyse et la gestion des risques naturels.

Des exemples de métiers auxquels les CMI en géosciences permettent d’accéder sont géophysicien(ne), géotechnicien(ne), hydrogéologue, géothermicien(ne), géologue pétrolier, géologue minier, ingénieur(e) risques naturels, chercheur(se) en géosciences. De nouveaux métiers sont également en émergence tels qu’ingénieur en écoconception, en sites et sols pollués, en bilan carbone, en déconstruction.

Nos formations
Génie Pétrolier Responsable(s) du CMI : Clarisse Bordes, Guillaume Galliero Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour